pubertytaketwo


8 Comments

The Simpsons

February 20, 2012

Happy President’s Day!

Yesterday was my older brother, Zach’s, 30th birthday. He was apparently fine with it, but I may have had a panic attack/post-quarter-life-crisis on his behalf. (That is, assuming, that you don’t live until 120 years old.) And when I tried to think about what to write on his facebook wall beyond the typical “happy birthday”, I could only think of the memories we siblings shared most…The Simpsons.

Here’s one of my favorite songs and moments from the glorious show:

 

Performed beautifully by Michael Jackson and Bart Simpson, this song reminds me of my relationship with Zach growing up– that there are moments of real friendship and love even in the midst of your older brother being a total bully. Zach used to pick on me A LOT, but I am really happy to call him one of my dearest friends today.

My family always loved The Simpsons— we turned into FOX every weekday at seven in Zach’s room (which doubled as our family TV room since his bed was a futon) and laughed while we crammed our faces with homemade salsa.  My brother taped seasons one through seven on VHS, before the days of DVR, netflix streaming, and RedBox rentals. This morning, I asked my Mom why our family was so drawn to the cartoon sitcom, and she put it simply– the show was a hilarious take on a dysfunctional family. They were messed up, and we weren’t perfect either…but at the end of the day, they all loved each other dearly.

My mom actually went on years later to lead a Lenten program called “The Gospel of The Simpsons”, which was a huge hit. (If I haven’t mentioned it already, my mom is an ordained Episcopal priest.) The seminar series featured discussions around reconciliation (when Krusty the Clown forgave his Rabbi father), repenting sins (when Homer was caught stealing cable by his daughter), and connecting to a spiritual community (when Homer quit going to church.) The program was a huge hit among the St. Luke’s congregation– it was inter-generational, engaging,   and down right fun.

Of course, there were a few families who opted not to attend and said they would never show their children that show. I had several friends growing up who were not allowed to watch The Simpsons. But I could never really figure out why. Sure, it was crude at times, but it was a parody on life and how complex family relations can be. This is my plea to parents…loosen up and let your kids watch it!

I don’t watch The Simpsons anymore. In fact, the last time I saw it I was really dissapointed. The show has just gone on for way too long…and needs to take a lesson from Brittish TV and leave on a high note. But man, seasons one through seven (or eight?) were genius. Great television. Television that teaches us, and can even encourage us to be better people in loving families.

What do you think– are you pro or anti Simpsons? Did you grow up in a Simpsons family? And does anyone still watch the show today?